Members - Jong Soo Kim



Research Interest:
My primary research goal is focused on collider studies of physics beyond the Standard Model (BSM) at the LHC. In particular, I am interested in automated test of BSM scenarios against current LHC results. I am a founding member of the tool CheckMATE which allows for easy testing of new physics models against experimental LHC analyses. The tool is growing in popularity among theorists as well as experimentalists and many studies have now used CheckMATE to constrain BSM physics. Moreover, I am interested in machine learning and I have published SUSY-AI which calculates LHC limits on the parameter space of the phenomenological MSSM. SUSY-AI is part of the BSM-AI project and we investigate the use of machine learning in particle physics phenomenology in collaboration with computer scientists, astroparticle physicists, ATLAS experimentalists. Apart from developing collider tools, I have been working on numerous phenomenology studies of BSM scenarios.
Wits HEP Member Table

Academic Staff

Research Staff


Associated Staff

  • Alan Cornell
  • Deepak Kar
  • Jong Soo Kim
  • Mukesh Kumar
  • Bruce Mellado
  • Elias Sideras-Haddad
  • Xifeng Ruan
  • Yesenia Hern├índez
  • Theodota Lagouri
  • Gerrard Peter
  • Debarati Roy
  • Charles Sandrock
  • Roger van Rensburg
  • Amir Abouelrous
  • Nkateko Baloyi
  • Stefan von Buddenbrock
  • Theodore Gaelejwe
  • Gerhard Harmsen
  • Harshna Jivan
  • Dingane Hlaluku
  • Elie Danien Rajaobelina Iarilala
  • Mohammed Omer Khojali
  • Nthabiseng Lekalakala
  • Shell-may Liao
  • Audrey Magabe
  • Lehumo Mashishi
  • Thabo Masuku
  • Joyful Mdhluli
  • Karabo Mdluli
  • Fortune Mhlanga
  • Lebohang Mokoena
  • Jeremia Monnakgotla
  • Chuene Mosomane
  • Abdualazem Fadol Mohammed
  • Tshidiso Molupe
  • Skhathisomusa Mthembu
  • Onesimo Mtintsilana
  • Edward Nkadimeng
  • Vezile Ngququ
  • Dimbiniaina Soanasolo Rafanoharana
  • Mampionona Ralaimiaramanana Rajaoferason
  • Kokotla Rapetsoa
  • Ntsoko Phuti Rapheeha
  • Esra Mohammed Shrif Mohammed Salih
  • Rorisang Sitoboli
  • Matthew Spoor
  • Mzwandile Thabede
  • Humphry Tlou
  • Kehinde Gbenga Tomiwa
  • Rudolph Erasmus
  • Scott Hazelhurst
  • Ivan Hofsajer
  • Jonathan Keartland
  • Click here to view previous members

    Wits HEP Group, School of Physics,
    University of the Witwatersrand,
    1 Jan Smuts Ave, Johannesburg, South Africa
    Telephone: +27 11 717 6848
    Fax: +27 11 717 6879